The Steady State Theatre Project is calling all Toronto playwrights and new play developers!

Scab Saga by Glyn Bowerman

Steady State is currently accepting applications for our two central programs:


The Steady State Playwright’s Unit works on the development of new plays that are already in progress. The SSPU involves regular group development meetings, monthly presentations and one-on-one dramaturgy. These plays are showcased as part of a Script Scrap – a week-long festival in the spring.


The Steady State Writers’ Circle focuses on the initial development of new plays. The applying playwrights are expected to come forward with a starting point or an idea and the group works collaboratively on the expansion of these starting points into plays. This year – under the leadership of Dahlia Katz – we are encouraging writers with TYA ideas to come forward.

Space is limited for these programs and applications will only be accepted until September 9th at 10pm.

All interested applicants should submit (in PDF format):

A bio and resume outlining your experience
1 letter of intent which outlines your play (for the Unit)
1 letter of intent which outlines your idea (for the Circle)
A 5-page script sample (for the Unit)

For more information email us at

[Play] by Michael BedfordJiv Parasram

Steady State has been dedicated to new play development programming since 2008. Our programs have resulted in the development of dozens of new plays – many of which have gone on to festivals and professional productions, and some of which have won awards. We provide an opportunity for selected applicants to take their work to the next level, whether that is a first draft, workshop, production or grant.

Previous members of Steady State’s playwriting programs include: Adam Bailey, Adam Barrett, Michael Bedford, Glyn Bowerman, Rain Chan, Simon Esler, Yolanda Ferrato, Erin Fleck, Natalie Fingerhut, Andrew Gabory, Rachel Ganz, Alan Gordon, Taylor Marie Graham, Laura Anne Harris, Alexandra Lean, David Levine, Andrew Thomas McKechnie, Liam Toshia Morris, Jessica Moss, Jiv Parasram, Aaron Rothermund, Daniel Sadavoy, Rob Salerno, Lara Stokes, Benjamin Strouse and Crystal Wood


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: