New Play Development

New play development through Steady State has resulted in the development of dozens of new plays – many of which have gone on to festival or professional productions. We provide an opportunity for program participants to take their work to the next level, whether that is a first draft, workshop, production or grant.

The Steady State Playwright’s Unit works on the development of new plays that are already in progress. The Unit involves regular group development meetings, monthly presentations and one-on-one dramaturgy. These plays are showcased as part of a Script Scrap, a week- long festival at the end of the spring.

Group Facilitator: Maya Rabinovitch

The Steady State Writers’ Circle focuses on the initial development of new plays. The applying playwrights are expected to come forward with a starting point or an idea and the group works collaboratively on the expansion of these starting points into plays. After a six-month period, meeting twice a month, readings of excerpts from these plays-in-development are presented as part of Script Scrap in the spring.

Group Facilitator: Duncan McCallum



Playwrights-in-Residence: Michael Bedford, Erin Fleck, Liam Toshio Morris

Steady State Playwright’s Unit: Adam Bailey, Rain Chan, Natalie Fingerhut, Rachel Ganz, Alan Gordon, Taylor Marie Graham, Andrew Thomas McKechnie, Rob Salerno, Lara Stokes

Steady State Writers’ Circle: Yolanda Ferrato, Andrew Gaboury, Laura Anne Harris, Alexandra Lean, Crystal Wood

Program Dramaturgs: Esther Arbeid, Rachel Blair, Justin Haigh, Dahlia Katz, Ulla Laidlaw, David Levine, Duncan McCallum, Dawn Nearing, Maya Rabinovitch, Daniel Sadavoy, Joanne Williams

Script Scrap 2013


Steady State Playwright’s Unit: Adam Barrett, Glyn Bowerman, Erin Fleck, Alan Gordon, Taylor Graham, Liam Morris, Jessica Moss and Lara Stokes

Steady State Writers’ Circle: Michael Bedford, Laura Anne Harris, Alexandra Lean, Jiv Parasram, Aaron Rothermund, and Daniel Sadavoy

Program Dramaturgs: Cole Alvis, Esther Arbeid, David Levine, Maya Rabinovitch, Matt White

Script Scrap 2012


Steady State Playwright’s Unit: Glyn Bowerman, Simon Esler, Erin Fleck, Liam Morris, David Levine, Maya Rabinovitch and Ben Strouse


Have questions? Interested in being involved? Email us at

%d bloggers like this: